On blogging

I’ve always been so stubborn.

You love “50 Shades of Grey” and you think I should read it? Oh, I’ll get right on that…

I’m stubborn to a fault but when it came to writing, my stubbornness didn’t pull me down with it. While attending journalism school I was told I should blog. I should start a Twitter account. I should learn SEO. I should learn how to build a website. And the list went on.

I tackled that list, but left out the blogging part until now. If I was getting published, wasn’t that better than blogging? Was I supposed to blog about the new Four Loko flavor or how I had no idea how I was going to come up with the cash for dark room supplies and a $200 text book? ZzZzZzZzZzZ.

I’ve come to realize that my distaste for blogging derived from my inability to provide readers with something useful or worth reading.

Now that I write for Drink Portland and Citysearch, I’m always discovering new businesses, drinks, and dishes. You can check back here for blog posts about rad places I find around town, but don’t you dare call me a foodie.

-Karen

Leave a Reply

